People

Richard Eaton
Professor of History
E-mail: reaton@email.arizona.edu
Phone: reaton@email.arizona.edu
Office: SS 111B

My research interests focus on the social and cultural history of pre-modern India (1000-1800), and especially on the range of historical interactions between Iran and India, and on Islam in South...
Full Bio

Kamran Talattof
Professor; Roshan Institute Chair in Persian and Iranian Studies
E-mail: talattof@email.arizona.edu
Phone: 520-621-2330
Office: Marshall 452

Founding Chair of Roshan Graduate Interdisciplinary Program in Persian and Iranian Studies

...
Full Bio

Austin O'Malley
Roshan Institute Assistant Professor in Persian and Iranian Studies

Austin O’Malley received his PhD in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations from the University of Chicago in 2017 with a specialization in pre-modern Persian literature. His research focuses on...
Full Bio

Anne Betteridge
Associate Professor, Iranian Women and Culture, Director of CMES
E-mail: anneb@email.arizona.edu
Phone: 520-621-5456
Office: Marshall 470

An anthropologist with a Ph.D. from the University of Chicago, Anne H. Betteridge is Director of the University of Arizona Center for Middle Eastern Studies and a faculty member in the UA School...
Full Bio

Yaseen Noorani
School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies (MENAS)
E-mail: ynoorani@email.arizona.edu
Phone: 520-626-9696
Office: Marshall 449

Yaseen Noorani holds a Bachelor’s Degree in History from the University of Virginia and a PhD...
Full Bio

Julia Clancy-Smith
Professor
E-mail: juliac@email.arizona.edu
Phone: 626-8421
Office: SS 221

Julia Clancy-Smith...
Full Bio

Linda Darling
Professor of History
E-mail: ldarling@email.arizona.edu
Phone: (520) 621-9754
Office: Social Sciences, Room 219
Melissa Fitch
Professor
E-mail: mfitch@email.arizona.edu
Phone: (520) 621-5272
Office: Modern Language 592

Dr. Melissa A. Fitch (Ph.D. 1995 ASU), a second-generation Mexican-American, was born in Los Angeles and raised in the city of San Francisco. Her research is currently focused on Asian...
Full Bio

Kevin Fitzsimmons
Professor, Extension Specialist & Research Scientist
E-mail: kevfitz@ag.arizona.edu
Phone: (520) 626-3324
Office: Environmental Research Lab

My position includes responsibilities in teaching, extension and research.  In the spring semester I teach ...
Full Bio

Ben Fortna
Director & Professor, History of Modern Middle East and Ottoman Empire
E-mail: bcfortna@email.arizona.edu
Phone: (520) 621-1732
Office: Marshall 444

Benjamin C. Fortna is a historian of the Modern Middle East with a particular research focus on the late Ottoman Empire and the early Turkish Republic.  His publications include Imperial...
Full Bio

Leila Hudson
Associate Professor, Modern Middle East Culture and Political Economy, Associate Director
E-mail: lhudson@email.arizona.edu
Phone: 626-9140
Office: Marshall 445

Degrees: 
PhD University of Michigan, Anthropology and History
MA University of Michigan, Anthropology
BA Yale University

Research Interests:
Syria, Iraq, late Ottoman...
Full Bio

Simin Karimi
Professor
E-mail: karimi@email.arizona.edu
Phone: (520) 621-5399
Office: Communication 106

I am a Professor in the Department of Linguistics. I have...
Full Bio

Scott Lucas
Marshall 446
E-mail: sclucas@email.arizona.edu
Phone: 520-626-9562
Office: Marshall 446

Dr. Lucas started learning Arabic during his freshman year of college, which led to  two fruitful periods of study in San'a', Yemen, and ultimately graduate school. His research explores the...
Full Bio

Masud Mansuripur
Chair of Optical Data Storage, Professor of Optical Sciences
E-mail: masud@optics.arizona.edu
Phone: 520-621-4879
Office: Meinel Building
Full Bio
Amy Newhall
Associate Professor, Middle Eastern Art & Arch
E-mail: newhall@email.arizona.edu
Phone: 520-621-5850
Office: 1219 N. Santa Rita Avenue

Like so many people, I began my romance with Egypt at a young age; Egyptology was it! However, in college I encountered the Islamic world while spending eight months in Turkey. A three-year stint...
Full Bio

Parviz E. Nikravesh
Professor
E-mail: pen@email.arizona.edu
Phone: (520) 621-4966
Full Bio